Sometimes the world conspires against your dinner

How could fried rice be compromised? I’ll tell you how. When you discover a hole in your bag of rice that you just got. Now call me neurotic (you’ll get to see a lot of that as I share my trials and tribulations) but, it’s open!!! Anyway, fried rice ingredients can generally be turned into lo mein without too much trouble…So I continue my chopping and slicing and mixing and,

well soy sauce is a hard thing to replace in Asian food, am  I wrong? My sauce ended up an odd blend of Worcestershire sauce, white wine vinegar (also ran out of rice vinegar!!! come on!), toasted sesame oil, chicken broth, sugar and red pepper flakes. Overall, actually pretty good. Full of veggies, low fat, filling, and a nice change of pace. I think Asian food is a difficult one to master but it is worth some study.

One response to “Sometimes the world conspires against your dinner

  1. I think what I’ve learned from my parents is that you can always wing Asian food.

    Looks delicious, regardless of the setbacks!

Leave a Reply

