A girl needs breakfast

So, I have one more week without  online shopping. Is it bad that there are 4 cookbooks in my Amazon shopping cart? 4 cookbooks and 4 cooking related utensils. I think I have a problem.

This morning I finished off that delicious, grainy breakfast cereal so naturally, I turned to Martin. He had previously mentioned a recipe for steel cut oats that he just loved, that at the time sounded to difficult for me. Isn’t it amazing how things change in a few short months? Basically so far I toasted 1/2 cup of steel cut oats in 1 tbsp of olive oil, added about 1/2 inch of a vanilla bean cut in half,

then added 2 cups of hot water, brought everything to a boil, covered it and turned the heat off. Apparently I just leave this soup sitting overnight and the oats take up the moisture. Then in the morning I am going to add a cup of milk, scrape the seeds out of the pod into the pot, add a pinch of salt and cinnamon and heat it with the cover off until it thickens and then serve it with whatever I’d like! Right now it looks suspect, but my fingers smell like vanilla :).

 

 

Off of breakfast and on to lunch! I didn’t include any black bean soup pictures because there is no way around how unattractive it is. But with a little sprinkle of sharp cheddar, it was a great lunch on this snowy, frigid day. Fresh berries were a great dessert.

Whenever I’m at home, I eat. Snack availability and boredom are a bad combination. But edamame hummus is so so so good. Couple of pita chips? Fabulous snacking. Followed by chocolate because it was there.

Dinner will be Rachael Ray #67, sirloin burgers with gorgonzola and Mediterranean slaw.

Leave a Reply

