Fridays are for risotto.

This was a looong week. L-O-N-G long. Lots of science and frustration but I think this will be my last day in das boot. Really feeling much much better and thinking that the Hyannis 10K at the end of the month will be a real possibility. And training for my next half should start on Monday! Even if I have to miss the first week (that’s sort of sounding smarter than going straight from booted to running), it’s a very exciting prospect for someone who hasn’t raced since October! So ready to be out running again. The days are starting to get longer already and I am getting cabin fever (or my foot is). Until then, going to focus on food. Seems like a great “in lieu of running” hobby.

Tonight I made lemon risotto from smittenkitchen.com, pan seared scallops and steamed asparagus. Definitely some “practice makes perfect” foods, but still turned out ok. Just sauteed some shallots and then the rice, add a little white wine and then add warmed chicken broth a little bit at a time as it absorbs. At the end, a little lemon juice, peel, and parsley give this a delicious light taste.

First things first…Do not misread “saucepan” as “pan. Risotto needs liquid to cook…Remedy= dump the whole thing into a pot with a little extra simmering chicken broth and stir. Tada!

Scallops…YOU HAVE TO ADD FAT! The techniques book I looked at says to drizzle both sides with olive oil and season with salt and pepper. I drizzled one side. And rolled. Problem was it wasn’t even close to enough oil. They’re cooked and the flavor was great but they definitely could’ve had a nicer crust on them.

Guess this means I have to keep buying scallops :).

I’m going to use the 3rd Saturday in a row at work as an excuse to get a delicious lunch somewhere in the South End. Or a brioche. Pretty sure this is why I’m getting fat. Food rewards.

Leave a Reply

