I’m 7.

Real Simple’s May issue had all of these lovely cake/frosting/topping combinations for cakes. Thankfully, an occasion for cake immediately presented itself. April barbeque! This afternoon, I skipped past the chocolate shavings, crushed pistachios, and slivered almonds in favor of, drumroll please, Nerds. If they tell me to try yellow cake with caramel frosting and rainbow Nerds, I’ll do it. Real Simple is boss. If they told me that gravel was the new rainbow sprinkles, I’d do that too, but fortunately, this paid off.

I adapted Paula Dean’s caramel frosting recipe because, let’s face it, the woman knows her frosting. Also, dulce du leche Real Simple? Really? Zero grocery stores have this and I am not making it from scratch.

Just to be safe, I dumped a bunch of Nerds onto a spoonful of frosting, and ate it. You know, gotta make sure the right flavors are there.

Leave a Reply

