Beach Day

What is it about salty beach air that makes a simple tuna fish sandwich taste to delectable? Maybe it reminds me of my childhood and my Bubbi making them for us to take to Sand Hill Cove, maybe the ocean’s proximity just makes fish taste better, who knows. All I can say is that yesterday’s beach excursion was the best day I’ve had in awhile and I want to go back, immediately. The patchy sunburn, icy water, and dehydration are all part of the fun of a New England beach and being in the city at these temperatures is just…it’s awful.

A fresh baguette, tomato, basil and mozzarella sandwich made a delicious, cool, summer lunch after a morning of cleaning but we may retreat to the single air conditioned room for an afternoon of movie watching before I turn the oven on to bake salmon. Mmm salmon.

Readers, what do you eat when it’s hot?

Leave a Reply

