Flavor

I had a great run on Monday, not so great this morning, and hoping I can rally before Irene hits this weekend! I was literally too tired for yin yoga Tuesday, that’s the kind of week it’s been.

Any of you back and forth vegetarians out there, ever have a situation where you haven’t eaten meat in awhile and it feels AWFUL when you do? I made my mom’s oven fried chicken Monday with really beautiful bone-in cage free chicken breasts from Whole Foods. If you’re going to do it, do it right. It tasted soooo good and I ate almost my whooole chicken breast, and then I spent the rest of the night in agony. Just terrible terrible stomach ache! Jon was totally fine and his was bigger than mine, and gone. Any thoughts? Maybe I overdid it and when I eat it, I need to eat less? Right now I’m scared to try anything. Even the grass fed, free range beef I got at the farmer’s market today (but let me tell you, the bread I bought from Clear Flour got torn into on the way home).

So tonight, I made channa masala, sort of a merging, modification of two blog recipes that were pretty similar.

I don’t know why I couldn’t get a better picture than that, I blame the camera…Yep, it was the camera’s fault. But this was delicious. So much flavor and substance to this meal that you forget it’s vegetarian!! Even Jon forgot, I swear.

On Beauty, by Zadie Smith, was really really good. Now I’m still reading The Omnivores Dilemma and I just started Everything is Illuminated. I thought I’d read it before but, now I think I just saw the movie. Damn you Elijah Wood!

2 responses to “Flavor

  1. Everything is Illuminated was a very muddled yet enjoyable book. I have not seen the movie yet, you will have to let me know how it compares. As for your channa masala, let me know what you did, I am always on the look out for improving my indian cooking technique given the piss poor availability of Indian cooking supplies in grocery stores around here….

  2. Hey Ed, I just posted the recipe, this is among my first attempts at Indian cooking so I apologize if it seems extremely basic or inauthentic. I think it’s yummy!

Leave a Reply

