Windy Weekend

After Friday’s near 7 miler and yesterday’s 3.5, I feel like a runner again. Appetite has returned in a big way, hence the Hurricane Irene baking.

Flour’s Old Fashioned Coffee cake only has 2.5 stick of butter and 2 cups of sugar. It was a great treat for a rainy, inside weekend. Did I mention the 6 ounces of créme fraiche? No?

And what’s better for rain than tomato soup and grilled cheese?


Homemade from Gourmet’s Roasted Tomato Soup recipe and then farmer’s market bread for a havarti grilled cheese sandwich, mm mmmmm.

As you can see, it’s been a super health conscious weekend.

Then, because I finished that loaf, I made two loaves of Flour’s Country bread. Even though my new oven thinks that when I set it to 450, I really mean  600, it turned out delightful.

I love bread so much.

Tonight I’m giving meat another shot, as Kathleen introduced me to the Brookline Farmer’s Market. I was able to get some pasture raised, grass fed ground beef and I think it will make a delicious quesadilla.

Until then, the Brewers are on tv and I could use a nap. Hurricanes are boring.

Leave a Reply

