I guess we have to eat!

I feel like I’m perfecting a new kind of cooking for me called “what’s in the fridge?” or “is it still good?”. Rather than taking this little monkey to the grocery store because I don’t have an exact ingredient,

photo

I’m modifying recipes, or just plain making s*@% up. Sometimes this works out better than others.

Random vegetables that you don’t want to go bad? Seems like a stir fry night. Leftover rice from a crock pot meal? I bet that’d be good in a burrito. I’m cataloging things that I consider to be “staples” to make this type of cooking work.

IMG_3473Some good frozen vegetables to roast (broccoli florets are my personal favorite), pasta and a jarred sauce, eggs, pesto to mix it up, chicken broth, diced tomatoes, a good sauce to add to stir fry (I LOVE the veri veri teriyaki), some frozen sliced leeks (that my parents pointed out work MUCH better if you pulse them through the food processor first, otherwise they come out very rubbery), eggs, garlic, lemon, and I don’t know any meal that can’t be improved by a good bread product. I would also include some things that I’m currently out of…yellow onion and all protein  (I try to have ground beef, turkey, and some cut of chicken)…and some unfeatured things like baby carrots (stir fry, salads, soups) and a well stocked spice collection. And of course, all of the ingredients to make those fabulous granola bars.

I am still planning a weekly menu, it’s just usually aiming for 3-4 meals now rather than 5-6, and then counting on leftovers, or leftover parts, to make more meals. When all else fails, grilled cheese and soup is always delicious.

This week I was inspired by my Aunt Cindy who sent along a recipe for “copycat Chipotle burrito bowls” so I decided to make a copycat big ole burrito.

photo-1

Leftover rice, a can of black beans mashed lightly with some cumin, cooked up some chicken and seasoned it with salt, pepper, chili powder and cumin, added guacamole, shredded cheddar, a squirt of lime juice, and inadvertent PARSLEY, which promptly ruined everything. a) I hate it, and b) it’s not cilantro.

Parsley.

Leave a Reply

