crochetstoeat?

Until I get a jogging stroller, I think the blog needs a revamped name…

My general week, aside from tons of diaper laundry (not as bad as I thought it would be, will post more about it later) and scraping together meals, simply includes keeping the baby entertained and working on the never ending project that is a blanket for my sister. Most of what I’ve knitted in the last year has been for the baby…

Her hat

Her hat

Her blankie

Her blankie

Last year, everyone got hand-knitted Christmas/Hannukah presents from me. I had a good amount of time to put into it so each person got a scarf or a  hat or a dinosaur hat. This year, nieces and nephews got books, parents got random things, sisters got….Well Jacquie got a kitschy dinosaur planter from Etsy and Sandy is patiently awaiting this…

Granny Square Blanket

Granny Square Blanket

I made one of these granny square blankets for myself last year out of scrap yarn,  buying a color to use for the edging, and it caught her eye and went on her wish list. This is just a typical granny square pattern and one of the first things I learned how to crochet. I like how each square is a separate, small project that I can actually complete.

Cuter with a cat

Cuter with a cat

And I’ve been cranking out squares as fast as my baby-nursing, diaper changing, dinner cooking hands will allow. My blanket is a comfortable 9×7 squares and hers is hovering at a solid 6×7 which I’m pretty pleased with! It’s going to be a birthday/graduation/Hanukkah/housewarming present and by the time it’s complete it’s going to be 8,000 degrees in her new Birmingham apartment. Perfect.

Jenna’s crock pot chicken tortilla soup was a delicious homey dish for the freezing-ass cold weather we’ve been having. I’m hoping it freezes well because it made a huge batch! YUM. I didn’t use tortillas, just added tortilla chips afterward. Yum Yum Yum.

Leave a Reply

