I’m so hungry.

My days are spent eating. Meals, snacks, snacks in between snacks. Nursing makes me SO hungry and thirsty. I’ve tried to keep healthy snacks around everywhere but cookies are sneaking their way in.

The last couple weeks have marked another transition to yet another version of normal. Miss Amelia will now play comfortably in her jumperoo for ALMOST long enough for me to get dinner ready.

Momentarily occupied

Momentarily occupied

This is not any specific amount of time. It’s just 5 minutes before everything would be completely finished and ready to eat, she is completely finished and ready to be picked up. Alas, this is better than what it has been. I was able to make Jenna’s Tex Mex Chicken lettuce wraps with one of the best avocados I’ve had in a long time (thank you Trader Joe’s).

photo-4I went for a couple jogs in this frigid March but decided I’d have better luck keeping up with it if I wait for a couple degrees of improvement. (So I tell myself so that it’s not so sad). It didn’t feel amazing, I’m clearly starting from even less than square one, but it did feel great to be out there and moving. I’m really looking forward to the spring. Until running conditions improve, I did accidentally stumble into the grand opening of the new New Balance store and get myself some new tennis shoes for walking and general life events.

I created one of my better pizzas last week with Trader Joe’s pizza crust and sauce with some very browned roasted garlic chicken sausage, fresh mozzarella  and sautéed red onion. Using the pizza stone and having it preheated to about 425 really does make a huge difference in your crust. I don’t bake the crust first, just slide the whole made pizza from a floured pizza peel  onto a pizza stone coated with cornmeal in the oven. I bake at 425 for about 20 minutes or until the crust feels and looks done.photo-5

I did a little bit of baking this week and made the lemon cookies that I love so much and Flour’s cornmeal lime cookies which I had eaten but never made before. I always make the Flour cookbook cookies about half the size that she puts in the recipe. Then I don’t feel so bad about grabbing one, or five, during the day. I love citrus dessert and these are no exception. They’re tangy and a very homey tasting cookie.

photo-2

Still plugging away on my granny square blanket for Sandy, we’re at 50 squares out of 63 so, close! Now if this baby would just nap…

 

One response to “I’m so hungry.

  1. Those lettuce wraps look very yummy!!

Leave a Reply

